Dreaming…

Standard

Teach the older women to be reverent in the way they live, to teach what is good. Then they can urge the younger women to be pure so that no one will malign the word of God. excerpted from Titus 2:3-5.

After a season of taut waiting, the heaviness over our family lifts.  We bask in the bloom of answered prayer, the God Who Sees, the One who resurrects glory out the ashes of fallen image-bearers.  Nothing can hinder the Lord from saving, whether by many or by few. 1 Sam. 14:6.  

Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for His compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness. Lam.3:22-23.

This is one fragment of newborn grace.  In September, I went to a leadership luncheon for Women Inspired, an organization formed this past June for the purpose of strengthening the seven pillars of every woman’s life.  Click here to browse the Women Inspired website for more detailed information.  At the luncheon, God opened my eyes to the soaring vision of this organization.

I want to be a part of it.

Women Inspired was born out of a group of leaders who chomp at the bit to invest in the lives of women on a journey with God.  Seven speakers, each one mentoring women through developing one of the seven pillars: identity, relationships, health, purpose, faith, hospitality, balance.   O, how I need support in those pillars in my life.  Members of Women Inspired receive access to one or more online mentoring courses through the pillar(s) of her choice.

I curl up on the sofa in my jammies, curving my hands around a hot mug of steaming tea.  I have so many questions, obstacles, needs.  I long for holiness; I need community to get there.  I balance my laptop and my Bible on my lap, type in my password, snuggle in.  I drink my tea – and Sandra Aldrich’s rich wisdom on the pillar of Faith.  Lord, thank you for this mentor, this insight, this enveloping love and grace.  Thank you for raising up these women for such a time as this in my life and the lives of thousands of unified women across the world.  We are a part of something staggering, something new.  

Want to join me?

A few weeks ago, Julie Gorman contacted me.  Julie is the Executive Director of Women Inspired (woot woot), and she is the speaker over the pillar of Purpose.  In a delightful serendipity, Purpose is the unifying thread running through our family right now. Dreamy Scott and I are anchored to the joys and terrors of walking unashamedly in purposeful mission.  We have discovered, to our naive surprise, that it is excruciating work, and opens up raw and unexpected resistance.  So when the Lord sends the mercy of an open door, like an invitation from Julie Gorman to join the Women Inspired team, I offer up a prayer of thanksgiving and squeal not-so-nonchalantly, “Yes!”

For this reason I remind you to fan into flame the gift of God, which is in you through the laying on of my hands. For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline. 2 Tim.1:6-7.

Under the shelter of these seven godly leaders, I am on the team as the Church Liaison Director of Women Inspired.  My role will be to represent Women Inspired to local churches before the Colorado Springs conference April 27-18th, 2012.  I feel fairly sure that the walls of Covenant Presbyterian Church, Colorado Springs, will shake off of their foundations from the mighty influence of these amazing women of God and the ladies surrounding them, together seeking wholeheartedly to inspire each other to live out love, grace & wisdom.  And I have a mouthful to communicate to the churches of our city about the value of this precious opportunity for Colorado women.

I am in awe of what God is building through Women Inspired – an edifice of powerful, transforming grace.  Lord, thank You for inviting us into a vision as dazzling as this.  Bring us the women whose hearts need nourishment in these seven areas.  May we make You famous in Women Inspired – we worship You alone.

Questions about Women Inspired?  Let me answer them!

womeninspired.org

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

