Heritage

Standard

Anyone who becomes as humble as this little child is the greatest in the Kingdom of Heaven.  Mt. 18:4.

On Tuesday mornings I pack my children and, typically, some kind of baked good into my swagger wagon and drive to church.  Depending on which Tuesday of the month, we tumble happily (usually) through the doors of Vanguard Church for either MOPS or women’s Bible study. This particular Tuesday, it was MOPS.  Now, my swagger wagon is a family vehicle and I am a believer in redeeming my time, so whilst driving I generally expose my securely strapped children to some kind of edifying music/story with the goal of enhancing their development.  Yes, I am that Mom.

However, today I unyinned the yang with my new Matt Redman CD, 10,000 Reasons.  O my stars, people, if you do not already own this record, immediately click here or go to iTunes and purchase it RIGHT NOW, even if it costs you your last nickel.  GO.  I will not be offended if you do not return to my blog (well, a little, but I’m a forgiver).  These songs are so anointed that they have lifted me right out of this planet and placed me squarely at the feet of the God Most High, where I just lay flat and bless His name.  Now, I am a worshipper and I can regularly be found finding spiritual meaning in canned good ingredients, but I am telling you, this record is steeped in the glory of heaven’s choirs.

So today I drove down Powers Boulevard, my children in their carseats, worshipping with all of my might to this, 10,000 Reasons.

There were tears in my eyes as I plunged headfirst into the deep well of this soul-shaking anthem of worship.  I raised one hand as I drove with the other, tears slipping down my cheeks, making tracks in my make up.  I caught a glimpse of something in my rearview mirror.  I turned around and caught my breath.

Both of my children’s little arms were raised.  Jack’s 5 year old eyes were closed.  Lucy’s soft child-voice was quietly singing, “Jesus” as her tiny hand swam above her carseat.

I have never seen anything like that in all my life.

My eyes spilled liquid legacy.  My children worship.  Is there a greater joy?  I cannot imagine that there is.

I have no greater joy than to hear that my children are walking in the truth. 3 John 4.

Little ones, your worship is a fragrance of everlasting sweetness to Your heavenly Father and an ocean of grace to me.  Always whisper Jesus’ name as you grow into your life story.  Ever raise your hand in wholehearted offering to Him.  I cannot conceive of a deeper mercy than to bequeath you a heritage of worship.

5 responses »

  1. @Both of my children’s little arms were raised. Jack’s 5 year old eyes were closed. Lucy’s soft child-voice was quietly singing, “Jesus” as her tiny hand swam above her carseat.
    ——
    ohhh .so heart warming

    I have four kids. when my 7 year old approach me and said “Jesus answered my prayer when I asked Him for an answer during my school exam” and Jesus did!

    My 5 year old, one day approach his mom (my wife of course, lol) and said “have you read the bible? it says Love one another”. My heart was pierced. because there was this time ago when my 5 year old saw me and my wife arguing. oh boy. Jesus truly is amazing!

    loved your post!

  2. Pingback: “W” « In Search of Sanctuary

  3. Pingback: Hope « In Search of Sanctuary

Leave a Reply

