Incarnation

Standard

And from his fullness we have all received, grace upon grace. John 1:16.

*  The Bible says that Jesus wrapped Himself in flesh when just the right time for birthing grace had come.  When the fullness of time had come, God sent forth his son, born of a woman. Gal.4:4.  A single mother, a simple village, an animal trough.  Then angels serenaded a hillside of blue collar shepherds bathed in a glimpse of heaven’s brilliance. No renaissance painters, no enlightenment thinkers, no trained videographers to diffuse the newborn gospel. YouTube has no record of that mysterious song at the dawn of grace. Why was that time, over any other, the fullness of time?

*  I read somewhere that a woman’s skin is astronomically more sensitive than a man’s skin, that if a woman put on a man’s body, she would feel as if she were encased in styrofoam.  I wonder what if felt like to Jesus to settle Himself into such a body?  He made Himself nothing … being made in human likeness. Phil.2:7.  

*  Yesterday I took my children on a special trip to Grandma’s office.  They treated the privilege flippantly.  They were wild and careless and demanding.  I overreacted with a flash of anger, resentful that they chose not to receive my offering of love with gratitude and maturity.  He was despised and rejected by mankind, a man of suffering, and familiar with pain. Like one from whom people hide their faces he was despised, and we held him in low esteem. Is.53:3.   Cosmic glory, laid aside for the Love of a rebellious world.  A life of dust, a death of agony.

The Incarnation takes me under.  The intimate majesty, the sacrificial wonder.  I weep that I do not walk under its weight of glory every second I spin on this planet.  The mystery of God With Us is beyond the scope of finity.  I cannot bear it.  But I can raise my eyes, my arms, my yearning being, to Immanuel.

The proper response to the mysteries of God is worship, not controversy.  JP Jones.

Leave a Reply

