Song

Standard

I consider the days of old, the years long ago. I said,”Let me remember my song in the night; let me meditate in my heart.” Ps.77:5
  
I had been praying about what to post here next.  I kept coming up empty.  Then today, suddenly, I remembered my song.  I dug out my old journals and found it, this poem. I wrote it 11 years ago. I remember it boiling up and pouring out of me like a gurgling fountain of poison-turned-sweet-and-safe.  It is my song of redemption to a Savior that rescued me after years of running away.  God sought out this Hagar in her desert and brought her back, and this is my love song to Him.

 The Lump of Coal

If only I could touch the place                                                                                                 outside this finite murky space                                                                                             where in spite of our denuding                                                                                                   the sacred and artful vail eluduing                                                                                               of glaring granite revelation                                                                                                       and consequences of inhalation                                                                                                     of the black-lung lies of immense proportion                                                                           that constitute our soul’s abortion,                                                                                               I could find the kind of power that unsheathed the trembling virgin hour;                       the power of sensitive carpenter hand;                                                                                       the power whose eagle wings, gathering, spanned                                                                   the gritty unbrilliant sky in the palm                                                                                           of an infinite hand and who fathered the calm                                                                           of finity’s archetypal storms.

O Eternal Mind of eternal forms,                                                                                                the perfection of matter and shadowless light                                                                              I in the darkness cry with a plight;                                                                                                 I have gasped and grasped and stood                                                                                         on towers and stretched as far as I could                                                                                 into the absence, my fingertips spread,                                                                                 until even the babble of wishing was dead.                                                                                   I cannot reach that unreachable place;                                                                                         I cannot transcend this buried space.                                                                                             So I lifted up my voice and wept,

“Alas, alas,” and down I crept                                                                                                        the winding stairs to join the throng                                                                                    whose riotous voices I’d envied long.                                                                                       The dance was wild, the wine was sweet                                                                                     so I whirled my head and succumbed my feet                                                                        and easily drowned the peal of the bell –                                                                                  the resonant gong of eternal knell.                                                                                         Until the edifice finally quivered.                                                                                             The cracks showed through, the foundations slivered.                                                        (and still the music never hushed,                                                                                              the voices swelled and dancers thrust)                                                                                          I saw with fascinated eyes,                                                                                                         Saw and trembled, paralyzed,                                                                                                        a single snake-like ribboned rift                                                                                              form beneath my feet and shift,                                                                                            pointing me toward the door.

So now I stand on the aching shore,                                                                                               at the tension line of sea and sand                                                                               (Something clasped tightly in my hand.)                                                                             While in the silence between the waves                                                                       something is real, something that saves.                                                                                      I poise here, a tightly coiled spring,                                                                                    waiting for a white-capped wave to bring                                                                             some assurance, some delight,                                                                                                   but the silence staggers me in the night.                                                                                 And the limbo is too heavy now                                                                                                 and so my head I slowly bow                                                                                                     and lift my weak unwilling fist                                                                                                   and lower my knees till they touch the mist                                                                           that is left by the silver receding tide.

And here, in the posture of prayer, I cried,                                                                        “Where were you when I was on the tower?                                                                       Where was your promised boundless power?                                                                       Why did you tear me from the wine?                                                                                     How can dichotomous wills align?                                                                                         Why won’t you let me in dancing abate                                                                                     the cold lofty stillness of heaven’s gate?”                                                                               And I shook my rebellious welded hand,                                                                       (something clasped tightly in my hand)                                                                                   and tried to rise up from the sand –

And then

The Silence

Hammered my ears . . .

containing the violence of temple tears                                                                          containing the Bread with which thousands were fed                                                  containing the Living who once had been dead                                                          (containing assurance, containing delight)                                                                    containing a lifetime of soul-ripping fright –

As my gasping lungs wracked with the flood of my weeping                                                       a wave overwhelmed me with force of its sweeping.                                                                    I AM the Reacher, I AM the flood,                                                                                                  I AM the Silence, I spill the blood.

Then came a pressure too hard to bear                                                                                      My hands groped for mercy, my lungs gasped for air.                                                                 I AM the heavy stones of the gate.                                                                                                 I roll the boulders, I lift the weight.

Then came a scorching, my lips and my hand                                                                                   burned with a searing that I could not stand.                                                                              I AM the fire. I earned the grace.                                                                                                   I AM the answer. I fill the space.

“Rejoice, for purifying perpetual fire                                                                                          has given my child her heart’s desire.”                                                                                          I opened my hand, fingers outstretched.

A diamond unfolded

I knelt down and wept.

Behold, all things have become new

Leave a Reply

